21 August 2021

This show was a lot of fun as Ricardo Wang’s 13 year old son Lennon tag team DJed with him to a very shoegaze rocking result.


  • Silzedrek “Gwen’s Pen” [I Stumble And Then I Fall]
  • Swallows “From the Bottom Up” [Me With Trees Towering]
  • Silver Mt. Zion “13 Angels Standing Guard ‘Round The Side Of Your Bed” [He Has Left Us Alone But Shafts Of Light Sometimes Grace The Corner Of Our Rooms]
  • my bloody valentine “Sometimes” [Loveless]
  • They Are Gutting a Body of Water “moerenuma park” [Destiny XL]
  • Sly & The Family Stone “Spaced Cowboy” [There’s A Riot Goin’ On (Expanded Edition)]
  • Thin Lizzy “Return Of The Farmer’s Son” [Thin Lizzy]
  • Built To Spill “Twin Falls” [There’s Nothing Wrong With Love]
  • Duster “Earth Moon Transit” [Stratosphere]
  • Scott Walker “30 Century Man” [Scott 3]
  • Be Bop Deluxe “Adventures In A Yorkshire Landscape” [Axe Victim]
  • Sweet Trip “Milk – 2021 Remaster” [You Will Never Know Why (2021 Remaster)]
  • Wire “Spent” [Send]
  • Comus “The Bite” [First Utterance]
  • Calm “Moonraker” [Moonraker]
  • Have A Nice Life “Earthmover” [Deathconsciousness]
  • Unwound “Off This Century” [Leaves Turn Inside You]
  • Sun “Reach For The Sky (Pluramon Remix)” [Wire Tapper 9]
  • David Bowie “Rock ‘n’ Roll with Me – 2016 Remaster” [Diamond Dogs (2016 Remaster)]
  • Krobak “It’s Snowing Like It’s the End of the World” [Little Victories]
  • Boards of Canada “I Saw Drones” [Geogaddi]
  • Autechre “Flutter” [Anti]
  • The Bran Flakes “Tic Tac Rhythm” [I Don’t Have A Friend]
  • Cacola “Please Wake Up” [The Angel, the Demon]
  • Xiu Xiu “Apistat Commander” [A Promise]

7 August 2021 (Freeform PDX Fundraiser!)

It’s the Freeform Portland Summer Fundrasier so if you are able, please SUPPORT Freeform and What’s This Called? The legendary DJ Victrola of Guitar Shop Radio joined your host Ricardo Wang for two hours of enthusiastic musings and music that shows what Free Sound is all about.


  • Midwinter “Sanctuary Stone” [Sumer Is Icumen In: The Pagan Sound Of British And Irish Folk 1966-75]
  • Fairport Convention “The Lobster” [Fairport Convention (Bonus Track Edition)]
  • Loo(p)cy “Time Machine” [7th Annual Report]
  • Mia Zabelka “Prelude to Shock” [Aftershock]
  • Ennio Morricone “1970” [Il Gatto A Nove Code – Le Chat À Neuf Queues]
  • Blue Sausage Infant “The Devil Himself” [Supple Supple]
  • Curved Air “Vivaldi – Remastered” [Lullabies For Catatonics: A Journey Through The British Avant-Pop/Art Rock Scene 1967-74]
  • Pas Musique “Elderly Women On Black (Wire Cut)” [The Wire Tapper 56]
  • Four Dimensional Nightmare “Bugs” [The Raven Stands Tall With It’s Wings Spread]
  • Sun Ra “At First There Was Nothing/The Universe Has More To Offer You/Wake Up Angels” [Outer Space Employment Agency ]
  • Big Scenic Nowhere “Towards the Sun” [Dying On The Mountain]
  • Unearth Noise “Cloud Gatherers” [7th Annual Report]
  • Thurston Moore “Breath” [By The Fire]
  • Legendary Pink Dots “Part 2 (excerpt)” [Chemical Playschool Volume 18]
  • Mick Farren “Summertime Blues” [I’m a Freak Baby 3]
  • Besvärjelsen “Past In Haze” [Frost]