26 October 2019 (Joshua Ploeg Live!)

Featuring acapella folk jams and classic noisecore/queercore recordings by Joshua Ploeg/Plague who is the author of 11 cookbooks, was the lead vocalist/lyricist in Mukilteo Fairies and Behead the Prophet No Lord Shall Live as well as playing in Kiss Me Kill Me, Lords of Lightspeed, and The Special Friend. In addition to both noise and acoustic folk solo sets he currently performs in Select Sex and Sanctuary of Sound.

Ricardo and Joshua have know each other since Ricardo procured a zine from Joshua outside the Capitol Theater in Olympia in 1993. Tune in to hear the story of what the zine was about.





  • Negativland “This Is Not Normal” [True False]
  • Art Ensemble of Chicago “We Are on the Edge (radio edit)” [We Are On the Edge: a 50th Anniversary Celebration]
  • Thurston Moore “Galaxies (edit)” [Spirit Counsel]
  • Select Sex “Strategies Against Ameteurs” [Strategies Against Ameteurs]
  • Sanctuary of Sound “The Merry Witches” [Hymns & Conjurations]
  • Tarot Twilight “Tarot One” [Tarot One]
  • Joshua Ploeg “Tam Lin” [Live on What’s This Called?]
  • WaqWaq Kingdom “Doggy Bag” [Doggy Bag]
  • Kim Gordon “Don’t Play It” [No Home Record]
  • The Fall “Eat Y’Self Fitter” [Perverted By Language (Expanded Edition)]
  • Lords of Lightspeed “White Chocolate and Brimstone” [Lords of Lightspeed]
  • Behead the Prophet, No Lord Shall Live “Clenching the Veil” [Behead the Prophet, No Lord Shall Live]
  • Richard Skelton “Altar Valley” [Border Ballads]
  • Grey Frequency “Elegy for Vinegar Tom” [Witchcraft & Black Magic in the United Kingdom]
  • Joshua Ploeg “Ditties Live” [Live on What’s This Called?]
  • Pharoah Chromium “Gaza Requiem” [Anthology of contemporary music from Middle East]
  • Parliament “Mothership Connection (Star Child)” [Mothership Connection]
  • Joshua Ploeg “Americana Ditties” [Live on What’s This Called?]
  • Pan Sonic “Urania” [Vakio]
  • Daft Punk “Rollin’ & Scratchin'” [Homework]
  • Mukilteo Fairies “Closet Check” [Closet Check]
  • Sun Ra “Somebody Else’s World – a.k.a. Somebody Else’s Idea” [My Brother the Wind, Vol. 2]
This entry was posted in Uncategorized by Ricardo Wang. Bookmark the permalink.

About Ricardo Wang

I began doing Public/Community/College radio at KUGS FM in Bellingham, WA in 1985 and was there until 1987. I spent 10 years at KAOS FM in Olympia, WA from 1993-2003 including a one year stint as Music Director. During that entire time, I did the What's This Called? program, at times for as long as 6 hours in a single night! The show ran at KPSU in Portland, from 2005 to 2018. I've been happily at Freeform Portland since October of 2018 and loving every second at this exciting freeform station! I started the Olympia Experimental Music Festival in 1995 and have been playing music off and on in the Dead Air Fresheners since 1997.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s